Saturday, 14 August 2021

Review: Celebrity SOS by Helen Buckley*


'I’m a celebrity ... trying to escape the past!
When Katerina Murphy agrees to take part in Celebrity SOS, a reality TV show where celebrities have to fend for themselves in the Alaskan wilderness, she’s up for the challenge. But then she locks eyes with fellow contestant Finn Drayson of 1Dream boy band fame and realises that the show is going to push her further from her comfort zone than she ever imagined.
After all, Finn wasn’t just Katerina’s co-star in the school play adaptation of Breakfast at Tiffany’s where she discovered her acting confidence, he was also her first love – and the first boy to break her heart. Even years later, the secret kisses and shared packets of crisps on park benches are never far from her mind.
Will award-winning actress Katerina Murphy’s talents stretch to staying composed in the face of Arctic winds and blasts from the past?'

This is the story of Katerina and Finn, and what a story it is. Their story is told over the course of 22 Chapters (+Prologue). It is also the second story in the Spotlight Series by this author. The first book was called 'Strictly on Ice' you can find my review HERE.

From the moment readers begin this book they will be hooked. The prologue sets the book up perfectly leaving readers with questions. The answers of which are slowly told over the course of the book. This prologue also peeks the readers interests. Interest will not only be peeked about Katerina and Finn but also their shared history. 

Throughout the book the point of view clearly switches between the two main characters, this is brilliant for the reader as they really get a fully rounded story. Not only that but they get the full story from both points of view, which as the book goes on its a really great way to learn what they are feeling. 

Another thing to be noted about this book is not only are we in present time but they also go back to the past to help explain the history that these two characters share. This is brilliant and clearly marked when the reader is in the past or present. So not only does the reader get the full 360 story of the present but also the past. This 360 view of the past means that readers get the opportunity to see how everything happened and how things change depending on whose view you are in. 

Overall this book was a brilliant addition to the series, and I was so glad that I have read it. Although it did bring the emotions in and had me reaching for the tissues, it also had me rushing back to it anytime I was interrupted. I can't wait to see where this story goes next, but one thing I know for sure is that I can't wait to get my hand on the next one. You can get your copy HERE.

Until Next Time



No comments:

Post a Comment